A classic children’s book, a piece of chocolate, and a lifelong passion for Piroso

Profile Stories

By Frances Brooks

Sitting on the colorful rug of her pre-K classroom, Gianna Piroso let the words of “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” wash over her and chewed contentedly on a piece of chocolate passed out by her teacher. She became engrossed by the way the story could come to life, and, at the age of five, Gianna Piroso fell in love with reading and storytelling. 

As a reader, Piroso is especially drawn to fiction: fantasy and mystery. She loves how imaginative the plots and characters are, and how the authors can pull a story out of thin air. She regularly finds herself being sucked into a book. 

“When a book is really good, I often find myself hiding in my room for hours on end until I finish it. There is no better feeling than finishing a good book and being shocked by the ending,” Piroso said. 

Along with her keenness to read, Piroso gained an interest in writing as a kid. She realized that she could be the one writing her favorite stories, and by using the imagery she admired in the writing of her favorite authors, she could immerse readers in the fictional worlds she created, just as she had been immersed in so many books.

“My love for books definitely inspired my love for writing and inspired me to write my own stories,” Piroso said. “I enjoy using my imagination to take the reader on a journey.”

Piroso’s excitement for storytelling translates across many genres of writing. Right now, she has a special interest in poetry. 

“I really enjoy the challenge of conveying emotions in relatable but symbolic ways,” Piroso said. 

Even in nonfiction genres that leave less up to imagination, such as journalism, Piroso always uncovers the best story to tell. She describes her taste in the stories she chooses to write as “picky,” preferring to find a substantive narrative to report on, instead of a less interesting headline. 

From a pre-K epiphany over “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,” Piroso gained a lifelong passion for reading and writing that inspires her to find and create meaningful stories in her everyday life. 

Leave a comment