Sir Michael Watches Over Carman Hall

Features

By Kendall McGowan

When students walk into the lobby of Carman Hall and are greeted by the mellow rumble of instruments belonging to jazz, R&B, or Latin music, they know immediately to stop by the front desk, because that’s a sure sign guard Michael Layne is on duty.

Layne, a security guard at Columbia for over 13 years sings, is able to play some piano, guitar, and bass, and says music plays an integral part in his life.

“It’s like a part of me, it’s like the air I breathe,” Layne said. “It rounds me out as a person.”

Music is not a recent interest for Layne. He said he began singing and making music at a very young age.

“[I began playing] as soon as I came out of the crib… Well, a little after that,” Layne said. “I never really got into the music, I’ve got to work and stuff like that, but I’m still going after it.”

Although his primary duty is to guard and maintain the lobby of the Carman dorm, Layne still makes time for music in his life.

“I used to sing in vocal groups. I used to be in bands and live music. I’m also recording stuff. I record CDs, I used to record tracks for my voice, and every now and then if I get a chance to go out to sing somewhere, I go.”

Some of Layne’s favorite places to sing are in Brooklyn, but he also used to play and perform with Columbia students in their programs and concerts. If students have been inspired and want to share in his music taste, Layne has some suggestions.

“I like Motown and stuff,” he said. “Bob Dylan, I like Muddy Waters, Rolling Stones, the Beatles.”

This music can be heard during his regular shifts in the lobby, and according to Layne it generates positive reactions in students and others passing through.

“I’m noted for that,” he said. “It’s fun, you know. Good stuff.”

Leave a comment